CLICK HERE to watch our Ennis National School Video

School Classes

Our school has twenty four mainstream classes, a Reading Class and two special needs classes. There are three class groupings of approximately 27 pupils at each class level from Junior Infants to Sixth class. Class teachers are responsible for the children’s welfare and delivery of the curriculum. Work is planned jointly by the teachers at each class level. By drawing on their individual experiences, knowledge and expertise, class teachers at each class level ensure work is well matched to meet the needs of the children.

We have a very dynamic Special Education Team in Ennis National School. The Special Education Needs Teachers and the Special Needs Assistants enhance, support, individualise and supplement the learning that takes place in classrooms. Pupils who have special educational needs are identified by class teachers and additional support may be provided following consultation parents.

The Reading Class caters for 5th/6th class children in Co. Clare who have a specific Learning Difficulty/dyslexia. Pupils work intensively on literacy and numeracy in the Reading Class, using methods suitable for pupils with dyslexia.

The ASD unit comprises of a senior sunshine class and a junior sunshine class. The children in these classes integrate in their mainstream class for different times of the days…read more about the Sunshine Classes

Board of Management

The Board of Management manages the school on behalf of the patron and is accountable to the patron (Bishop of the Diocese of Killaloe) and the Minister for Education and Skills. The Board must uphold the ethos of the school. The principal is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school, including providing guidance and direction to the teachers and other staff of the school and is accountable to the Board for that management.

The Board of Management is appointed for a four year term. The Patron nominates two members of the Board, two members are elected by parents and one by school staff. These members and the Principal meet to co-opt two community nominees. Our Board of Management meets at least twice a term. Reports on meetings and decisions made are communicated to parents in Parent Circulars. The current Parent Nominees are John O’Connor and Emer O’Reilly.

Parents’ Association

The Parents Association of Ennis National School endeavours to work in close collaboration with the Principal, Staff and Board of Management, to create a strong partnership between home and school. Activities encourage active parental/guardian involvement and positive experiences for pupils and their families as they strive to be the best they can, within the school and local community.

The parents association is affiliated to the National Parents Council Primary. This council represents parents’ views on curriculum, class size, health and safety and many other issues as well as negotiating with the Minister and Department of Education and Skills for improvements in the education system and better resources for primary education.

List of Staff


Brian Troy (Acting Principal)

Deputy Principal

Bob Enright (Acting Deputy Principal)


Emer Cunningham


Ger Doyle
Augustina Preston

Teaching Staff

Ciara Stack
Siobhán O’Neill
Padraig Kelly
Siobhan Marren
Betty O’Donnell
Liz Spring
Siobhan McNamara (Sarah Bennett) (Job Share)
Colette Eustace
Sharon Murphy
Eimear Martin
Yvonne Kelly
Aisling Howley
Sean Cullinan
Niamh Murphy
Daire Dwyer
Ursula O’Connor
Roisin McAndrew
Colette Browne
Ciara Harding
Annette O’Dwyer
Deirdre Tiernan
Anne McMahon
Aoife Kelly
Eoin Walsh
Brian Griffin
Pat Vaughan
Eamonn Corry
Gary Walsh
Lourda Roseingrave
Fiona de Buitléir
Ken Hickey
Joanne Fitzgerald
Michelle McCormack
Laura Hehir
Keith O’Loughlin
David McInerney
Hannah O’Sullivan
Liz Cullinan
Lisa Walshe
Naomi McMahon
Seán Flanagan

Special Needs Assistants

Deirdre Larkin
Ann McGinley
Ailish Arthur
Sinead Murphy
Margaret McCarthy
Rose Hahessy
Liz McMahon
Mary Hickey/Robyn Gilligan (Job Share)
Ewelina Biakecka
Suzanne Giller

Anna Lordan

Board of Management

Eamon Murphy (Chairperson)
Brian Howard, Áine Gleeson (Co-opted)
Bill Clohessy (Patron’s Rep)
John O’Connor, Emer O’Reilly (Parents’ Reps)
Michelle McCormack (Teachers’ Rep)
Brian Troy (Acting Principal)

* The Board of Management is responsible for managing the school on behalf of the patron and for the benefit of the students and to provide an appropriate education for each student at the school.

Parents’ Association

Claire O’Loughlin (Chairperson)
Laura Ryan (Secretary)
Marie Keane (Treasurer)

* The Parents’ Association works with the principal, staff and the board of management to build effective partnership of home and school.